March 14, 2023

New Expert Advisory Board

Carbon Gap welcomes 12 leading carbon dioxide removal experts and practitioners

Carbon Gap is pleased to formally launch its new expert Advisory Board, initially comprising 12 recognised experts and practitioners from across climate, with a focus in carbon management and carbon dioxide removal (CDR). The Carbon Gap Advisory Board will support the organisation on many fronts, including contributing to the development and refinement of its independent, science-based positions on responsible carbon management in Europe, improving the charity’s long-term strategy, and strengthening and broadening its links within the global expert community. The initial members of the Carbon Gap Advisory Board include leading experts and practitioners from academic, industry and policy fields. In 2023 and beyond, the Advisory Board will continue to expand to be representative of Carbon Gap’s pan-European geographic focus, and of the stakeholders Carbon Gap exists to serve. 

The Advisory Board is chaired by Tim Kruger, one of the co-founders of Carbon Gap and a member of the European CDR science community. The Advisory Board’s initial focus will be supporting the creation of a vision for CDR in Europe and feeding back on the research agenda, as a mechanism for engaging policymakers and other stakeholder groups. 

“Carbon Gap’s value to policy development is its independent CDR science base. It is important we strengthen and protect this. The creation of an Advisory Board is part of this process and will increase our impact with both influencers and decision makers. As one of the co-founders of Carbon Gap, I am proud to chair the Advisory Board, which will be an integral part of the work to define clear positions and close knowledge gaps being led by our Chief Scientist, Eli Mitchell-Larson.” – Tim Kruger, co-founder and Advisory Board Chair


“We could never have launched Carbon Gap without the wisdom and support of the CDR scientific and practitioner community, many of whom have been heavily involved since our launch at COP26. I am thrilled to formally welcome new and long-time advisors alike and look forward to continuing to expand and strengthen our ties with the broader European and global expert community. Carbon Gap’s mission can be daunting, so I’m honoured to have the opportunity to draw on and collaborate with this talented group.” – Eli Mitchell-Larson, co-founder and Chief Science & Advocacy Officer 

Carbon Gap’s new expert Advisory Board includes: 

Cameron Hepburn  

Professor of Environmental Economics at the University of Oxford, and Director of the Smith School of Enterprise and the Environment. He also serves as the Director of the Economics of Sustainability Programme, based at the Institute for New Economic Thinking at the Oxford Martin School. 

Emily Cox 

Research associate at the Universities of Oxford and Cardiff. She is a social scientist in energy and climate, with expertise in public attitudes and behaviours, risk, resilience, and socio-technical systems. Her research focuses on public perceptions of carbon removal techniques. 

Eve Tamme 

Senior advisor on climate policy. Her expertise includes carbon markets, carbon removal, carbon capture and climate governance. Eve leads Climate Principles, a climate policy advisory focusing on carbon markets, carbon removal and carbon capture. 

Jessica Omukuti 

Research Fellow on Inclusive Net Zero at the University of Oxford. Jessica co-leads Oxford Net Zero’s research on how net zero can be made to be more inclusive to the Global South and to diverse groups within the Global South and Global North. 

John Beckett 

Technology and climate entrepreneur based in Dublin, Ireland. He Co-founder and Chair of the Nature Trust, a not-for-profit dedicated to native woodland afforestation, peatland rehabilitation, and rewilding at scale. He also focuses on advancing Irish and European carbon dioxide removal (CDR) policy. 

Meera Atreya 

Director of Carbon Direct Europe and a Senior Scientist, helping organisations measure, reduce, and remove their greenhouse gas emissions. Working in climate tech research and strategic advisory since 2009, she led the Energy Transitions Commission’s analysis of the role of bioresources in climate change mitigation. 

Myles Allen 

Professor of Geosystem Science in the School of Geography and the Environment and Department of Physics at the University of Oxford and an IPCC author. He is the Director of Oxford Net Zero, the University of Oxford’s interdisciplinary research initiative on net zero. 

Oliver Geden 

Senior Fellow at the German Institute for International and Security Affairs (SWP) in Berlin, which advises both the German Parliament and the German Federal Government. His work focuses on the European Union’s climate and energy policy and carbon dioxide removal. He is also an IPCC author. 

Phil Renforth 

Associate Professor in the Research Centre for Carbon Solutions at Heriot-Watt University. His research combines skills in civil and process engineering, engineering geology, and geochemistry to investigate methods of atmospheric CO2 removal through reaction with rocks and minerals. 

Richard Templer 

August von Hofmann Professor of Chemistry at Imperial College London. For the past 15 years his work has been focussed on support for innovators and entrepreneurs seeking to combat the causes and effects of climate change. He co-founded the Climate-KIC and launched the UK’s first specialist accelerator for climate innovations. 

Steve Smith 

Executive Director of CO2RE, the UK’s multi-disciplinary research hub for greenhouse gas removal, as well as the Oxford Net Zero Initiative. He is lead author of the State of Carbon Dioxide Removal and co-developer of the Net Zero Tracker. 

Tim Kruger 

Co-founder of Carbon Gap and Advisory Board chair. He is Senior Associate of Oxford Net Zero and ran the Oxford Geoengineering Programme at the Oxford Martin School between 2010 and 2022, an initiative which assessed the technical, social and ethical issues associated with the full range of proposed Greenhouse Gas Removal and Solar Radiation Management techniques.